8/10 Students Leaving, My turn

bigblockz8

Some More CFI Issues

I have heard from many sources that 79-85% of students never finish their training. I have also heard that this is generally post solo, only about 40% of this drop out is pre solo.

Some info/data to read http://www.aopa.org/ftinitiative/

I am a pre-solo student. Today was my final lesson for the foreseeable future unless I get lucky and win one of the many scholarships,contests, or jobs that I applied for.

My reasons for leaving?

• Cost! (if the other issues weren't here I'd gladly shut my mouth about cost)
  • Training that sucks (Microsoft FSX has "taught*" me more about how to fly and my CFI acts more like a safety net when I attempt to put sim learning to use...little to no instruction occurs in the air or on the ground :( No guidance.)
  • CFI's that don't give a rat's ***!
  • The amount of trial and error involved ( I mean this by looking for new CFIs or looking for a new flight school just to find that they don't match)
  • The impersonal numeric feeling. I'm just another transaction in the accounting books.
I have always wanted to fly but in my flight training my love has disappeared.

I now have more fun at home with a computer program than I do in the air. My computer is never late, never has excuses,never unprepared and is never vague.

I wake up wanting to fly. The more that I fly (in a training environment at least) the less I like it. I generally bum a ride once every several months in order to keep the flame lit. I find that I absolutely HATE learning to fly thanks to the training environment issues.

I am tired of the CFI's that are "yeah yeah get in and let me fly, I NEED TIME!" or the CFI's that're "Do what ever you want, I just need the time. If you're gonna crash I'll help you, just make sure that I'm not texting."