floaty landings

GeorgeC

I'm a pre-solo student pilot with a dozen hours or so in the 172. For the last little while, I've been practicing right-handed patterns on a runway with no VASI. To further complicate things, it's been breezy of late, up to 14 gusting 20.

My C172 POH says that landings are okay with any flap setting. I have typically used 30° on normal approaches, but have subsequently tried 20°, 10°, and no flaps in windy conditions. The lower flap settings seem to make the plane a little more controllable and less prone to wallowing.

Things are getting easier every time I go up, but I am still prone to flaring prematurely (happens to everyone...), hesitating when it comes to chopping the throttle after I cross the runway threshold, and underestimating the power of ground effect.

That said, I'm still finding myself floating down the runway or ballooning out of ground effect. Are there other confounding factors I should be looking for, or is the wind just messing with me?

GeorgeC said:
The 172N POH says 55-65 kias flaps down approach speed; I don't understand the discrepancy between this figure and 1.3 Vso. Incidentally, Vso is 33 on my checklist, but is 41 in my POH.
33 is probably KIAS and 41 probably KCAS.

I tend to remember and use KIAS since that's what I'm dealing with in the cockpit - but I'm still a student myself so my advice has no depth of experience behind it.

GeorgeC said:
The 172N POH says 55-65 kias flaps down approach speed; I don't understand the discrepancy between this figure and 1.3 Vso. Incidentally, Vso is 33 on my checklist, but is 41 in my POH.
One other point - I would suggest you go with what the manufacturer's POH says for normal landing speed in KIAS - not 1.3 Vso in KIAS, KCAS, or Warp Time-Dilation calibrated speed. The latter is, I believe, a RULE OF THUMB ABSENT POH GUIDANCE.

Caveat again: I am just a student too. I expect I'll get beat up now by those who have advised 1.3 Vso!

Henning said: