I hate modern hiring practices of some companies

flhrci

I have been unemployed for just a touch over 2 months now and have filled out many online applications for various jobs that I reasonably thought I could get that don't require tons of training or special education.

I am a part-time CFI and cannot live on it nor can I move for a better CFI job due to family issues.

About 45 minutes ago I got done applying to Time Warner Cable for a Field Technician position. I was a cable installer for another company in 2008-2009 so I thought I would have no issues getting hired. I spent over an hour and probably 30 mins or so doing the online application and their assessment tests. 15 mins or so after I was done I got an email saying they were not going to consider me any further and there were others more qualified. It also said it was an automated email. At 1930 hours, I am quite sure no human even looked at my app.

Rewind about a month and a half ago. I applied to the post office for a mindless sorter operator job that was even seasonal. After three or so hours of assessments, I was informed via automated email that I was not qualified and could not retake the tests for 6 months.

Every time there is some type of assessment I do not qualify and am not told why. These "tests" always say they have no right or wrong answers generally. I am not sure what I am doing wrong but each and every time I apply and get rejected this way, I feel even more devalued as a human being.

My Veteran status and Bachelor's degree don't matter either. I have a degree in Aviation Management and jobs I should be able to get into want 3-5 years of experience. I have found lately that nearly half of the entry level jobs I see in any job title want 6 months to a year of experience. So even entry-level is not entry-level.