Ownership decision/Insurance thoughts?

MuseChaser

After owning a PA28-140 for many years with two partners, then buying one out, then buying the other out and becoming sole owner for the last four years or so (and that was, BY FAR, the most enjoyable part of the ownership), and coming to the realization that the ebbs and flows of my daily life made the frustrations and economic challenges of aircraft ownership outweigh the emotional and (few) practical advantages (at least for me), I (regrettably) sold my baby a week or two ago. After doing the math for the fixed costs I incur (hangar, annual) plus fuel, the break-even point for me of ownership vs renting would be thirty hours of flight time. After that, assuming no major maintenance expenses in a given year, ownership becomes less expensive than renting. Unfortunately, I've only flown more than 30 hours in a year twice in the years I've been a pilot. I'm hoping that changes, but figured, for a while, I'd continue flying as a renter and let someone else worry about scheduling the annuals and maintenance. If I find that I miss the freedom that ownership provides, I'll start the shopping process in earnest, and upgrade a bit in the process. To be determined...