Stories of the struggles of breaking into Aviation! Add your own!

Blimpin

I'm a first generation of pilot in my whole family history. When I was very young, my mom told me I could be whatever I wanted to be. As a naïve little kid, my response was "I want to be a bird!" I guess I found the next best thing. I moved from NY to NC when I was 13. After saving up enough money mowing lawns, I had enough to take my first few flight lessons when I was 14 years old. By the time I was 15, I was working close to 30+ hours a week while in high school to follow my dream of being a pilot. My parents were VERY supportive, but were not of the means to pay for my lessons although helped ANY time they could! As long as my grades stayed A's and B's, my parents allowed me to work as much as I could in order to pay for lessons. And I did just that. About every two weeks, I'd have just enough to take one hour or so lesson to keep my interest up. At 16, I soloed! within a year or so, I became a private!