Stupid mistake I've made too often

I am a private pilot with around 125hrs counting training.

One of the first goof ups I ever had as a student pilot was approaching my home field of all places... class D towered field. I was approaching from the west and the tower told me to enter right downwind for 22 which is the most logical approach from that direction. I was probably 1-2 miles on a perfect 45 for the downwind when suddenly my brain told me I had it all backwards and I was lining up for runway 4. I was not... I was right where I should be but I started maneuvering back away from the field to set up for the correct entry the tower assigned... a bit later I looked down at the heading indicator, thought for 2 seconds, and realized what I'd done. Called the tower, confessed, no big deal they just had me finish my approach on a looong right base. No harm, but I felt damned stupid.

I never did this at my home field again... I'm now so familiar with the layout of the airport I couldn't. However, both as a student pilot and now with my private I've flip-flopped the runway several more times. Always at an unfamiliar field but that's no excuse, the compass works the same everywhere. I come in, make my calls on the CTAF, set up with a perfect pattern entry and then read the number on the runway and realize that I dun goofed. Then I have to make a fool of myself and report where I actually am on the radio... thank god the pattern has always been empty.