Got "gassed" in Milan...not the good "gassed"

LongRoadBob

So, here's the deal.

My wife and I are in Milan, and not to go into too much detail, we had to switch rooms, etc, and ended up with a small room.

So last night my wife didn't smell it but I definitely smelled ammonia and assumed housekeeping used it to clean. There is another smell that we had both in the first room and the new smaller room, but it was not ammonia.

Woke up in the morning, and my wife did notice it, but she hasn't been around ammonia as much as I have. We spent the day in the city. Came back to the hotel room (which had been made up since we left) and it reeked of ammonia. My wife was in agreement. Very bad. I am studying for me pilots license exam, and went down to the "bar" which wasn't open, to study. My wife stayed in the room with the window open and the door out to the hallway open. I was sick of complaining to them about the noise in the first room, etc. and just felt, "ok, they used too much ammonia...well air it out".

She came down to the bar, and since it was closed after a while I wanted a beer. I had one in the minibar in the room, and luckily I didn't ask my wife to go get it, went myself.

She had said the smell was a little better but when I opened the door it was really bad. I went in, and leaned down and opened the minibar (refrigerator door, like a normal door) and WHAM... I got hit with a gas that caused me to stop being able to breathe. I'm kinda proud of my survival instincts, I immediately shut the door, not able to breathe and gagging I made my way into the bathroom, and splashed cold water on my face, but still could not breathe. When I say "could not breathe" I mean I was acutely aware of a lack of oxygen, and could neither breathe in...or out even. Could. Not. Breathe.

After really thinking I ight die here, slowly I could almost breathe in, or out...slowly it started getting better, and I made my way out to the hallway.